The Hilltop Breeze Newsletter Archives





February 1, 2015

A Snapshot of the Trine Homecoming and The Alumni Reunion


The alumni that attended the Trine Homecoming and the Alumni Reunion had a good time, meeting with old friends, exchanging stories, etc. We would like to have more involvement from alumni at this exceptional event. In the near future expect to see updated schedules of what is happening at Trine University and Kappa Sigma. Hope to see you soon.

The Officers of Theta-Xi Alumni Association



From left Roy Charleswood, new Communication Chairman, Cindy Turner, Keith
Turner and new Alumni President- Mark Houser enjoy the Homecoming Football game from the Sky Box

2014 Annual Alumni Meeting at Best Hall








Shawn Reiner and Andrew Arthur Notes each received a $1,000 scholarship. Sig Cup is a golf competition between Kappa Sigma and Alpha Sigma, This event has raised over $37,000.00 since first event was held in 2009. Kappa Sigma did win the event this year.









Trine Mascot, Mike Darch with President Dr. Earl Brooks being recognized at the half time of the
Trine Homecoming Football game for his Distinguished Service Award.


Mike Darch and His Family enjoying the evening at the Alumni Dinner.


Matt Land – the Athletic Director of Trine University, Bill SanGiacomo, Recipient of the Trine Athletic Hall of Fame
and Trine President Dr. Earl Brooks






Mitch Rhoads is being presented a gift From Dr. Earl Brooks for his soon to be announced,  Business School of Entrepreneurship being located in the renovation of old library building – being the new location for the Ketner School of Business.



Rick Hoover, President of the Alumni Association and Trine President Earl Mike present
Mike Darch The Distinguished Alumni Award.

Skull & Bones new members at Alumni Homecoming Reunion with Skull & Bones Alumni Brothers Keith Turner, Bill Meyers, Mitch Rhoads, Ralph Trine, Mike Darch, Joey Monihan (Current GM at Kappa Sigma)

Your new officers working on plans with website coordinator Greg Griffis




Team Kappa Sigma Brings Home Cup at 2014 Sig Cup Scholarship Golf Tournament



From Mark Davenport August 22, 2014

Dave Ballinger, Steve LaHood, Ryan Estes, Allan Abbata

John Goudy (R) presents Sig Cup to our Captain, Steve LaHood


On August 1 and 2, Alumni from the Theta-Xi Chapter gathered for the 9th annual Sig Cup Golf Challenge to compete with Alumni from Alpha Sigma Phi for fun, fellowship and to raise funds for scholarships for Brothers from both Fraternities. Established in 2006 by Kappa Sigma Alumnus Steve LaHood and Alpha Sigma Phi Alumnus John Goudy, this medal play-scramble event has grown in number of players every year, and has raised over $37,000 to date. Two Undergraduate Brothers from each Fraternity will receive a $1000 Sig Cup Scholarship for the 2014-15 school year.


Andrew Lesher, Alex Lorencz, Shawn Floyd, Andrew Wolf

The Friday afternoon round is held in conjunction with Trine University’s Annual “Alumni and Friends Scholarship Golf Outing” at Zollner Golf Course. The Saturday morning round takes place at a different course in the Angola area. After building up a formidable lead on Day One, highlighted by the Kappa Sigma foursome of Shawn Floyd, Andrew Lesher, Alex Lorencz and Andrew Wolf winning the Trine University outing; Team Kappa Sigma claimed the 2014 Sig Cup by holding off a Day Two rally by the Alpha Sigs at Lake James Golf Club, and over $6,000 was raised for the scholarship fund.


Marc Snyder shows off his putting skill as Andrew Arthur,
Noah Warren and Mark Davenport "go to school."

This year’s participants included Alumni Steve LaHood, Dave Ballinger, Marc Snyder, Doug McCray, Ron Thomas, Dave Petrie, Roy Charleswood, Shawn Floyd, Alex Lorencz, Andrew Lesher, Mark Davenport, Mark Houser, Dave Zeider, Steve Bushore, Noah Warren, Ryan Estes, Allan Abbata, Jim Sproatt, Andrew Wolf, Jeff Huffman and Undergrad Brothers Andrew Arthur, Chris Stewart, Jason Maier and Nick Lang. Others who took part in the festivities but did not play golf were Mitch Rhoads, Rick James, Ralph Trine, and undergrads Nate Price, David Longo, Zach Rilett and Jimmy Deibert.

Andrew Wolf, Alex Lorencz, Mitch Rhoads,  Ralph Trine, Steve LaHood, Andrew Arthur

If you are interested in participating in, or contributing to, the 2015 Sig Cup event, contact one of the following Alumni Brothers: Steve LaHood, Shawn Floyd or Ryan Slone.


Kappa Sigma Alumni on Trine University Boards

Posted September 28, 2014  

The Theta-Xi Chapter of Kappa Sigma and it’s predecessors on campus have long maintained a good working relationship with The University. An example of this healthy relationship today is the impressive number of Chapter Alumni serving on University Boards.

Seven Kappa Sigma Brothers are currently members of the Trine University Board of Trustees.

They are:

Chairman of the Board of Trustees: Rick James Chairman and CEO, Metal Technologies, Inc., Auburn, IN

Secretary of the Board of Trustees: Ralph Trine Chairman and CEO, Vestil Manufacturing Co., Angola, IN

James Bock, President and Owner, Bock Engineering, Elkhart, IN.

Stephen LaHood, President/Owner (ret), SVP Operations. Sarasota,FL.

Mitchel Rhoads, Chairman, Rhoads Holdings Ltd. Inc. and LePeep Restaurants. Angola, IN

Wayne Shive, President, Best Boy & Co., Fort Wayne, IN.

Keith Turner, Co-Founder, Metal Technologies, Inc., Auburn, IN

Two Kappa Sigma Brothers are currently serving on the Trine University Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. They are:

Mike Darch, Class of ’67

William Pett, Class of ‘53

Our Brotherhood teaches us that The Four Pillars of Kappa Sigma are Fellowship, Leadership, Scholarship and Service. The commitment of these Brothers to our alma mater exemplifies the practice of Leadership and Service beyond one’s college career. We thank them for their contributions to Trine University and are proud to call them “Brother.”